Fish Parasitology and Immunology

Research group of Klaus Knopf
Pseudodactylogyrus bini, a gill parasite of eels. | Photo: Klaus Knopf / IGB

Pseudodactylogyrus bini, a gill parasite of eels. | Photo: Klaus Knopf / IGB

The control of diseases and parasites in aquaculture is essential to meet the requirements of animal welfare and economic production. That's why we are dealing with new, alternative ways to control pathogens and keep fish healthy.

Parasites are not only dangerous pathogens in captive fish. Introduced parasites from other continents may pose a serious threat to non-adapted endemic fish species. One of these alien parasites is the eel swim bladder nematode Anguillicola crassus. We focus on understanding how the immune system of our native eel species deals with this new parasite.

Endemic parasites, however, are found in a fascinating variety in wild fish, where they rarely attract attention as pathogens. They are integral parts of aquatic communities. Many fish parasites have complex life cycles that involve several hosts at different trophic levels, and much remains to be explored about their function in the ecosystem. We are interested to learn how these parasites could alter the role of their hosts in the aquatic food web.

Furthermore, we are using our experience in the determination of stress and immune parameters to obtain measurable evidence for the welfare of captive fish. It is our goal to provide scientific data on how to improve the husbandry conditions for fish in captivity.

Group members

Klaus Knopf

Research Group Leader
Working group
Fish Parasitology and Immunology

Viola Schöning

Technician/Lab Operator
Working group
Fish Parasitology and Immunology

Share page

Fischparasitologie und -immunologie

Arbeitsgruppe von Klaus Knopf
Pseudodactylogyrus bini, a gill parasite of eels. | Photo: Klaus Knopf / IGB

Pseudodactylogyrus bini, ein Kiemenparasit von Aalen. | Foto: Klaus Knopf / IGB

Die Kontrolle von Krankheiten und Parasiten ist in der Aquakultur essentiell, um den Anforderungen an Tierschutz und einer wirtschaftlichen Produktion gerecht zu werden. Deshalb beschäftigen wir uns mit neuen, alternativen Wegen, um Krankheitserreger zu bekämpfen und Fische gesund zu halten.

Parasiten sind aber nicht nur gefährliche Krankheitserreger bei Fischen in Gefangenschaft. Eingeschleppte Parasiten aus anderen Kontinenten können eine ernsthafte Bedrohung für nicht angepasste endemische Fischarten darstellen. Einer dieser eingeschleppten Parasiten ist der Schwimmblasen-Nematode von Aalen, Anguillicola crassus. Wir untersuchen, wie das Immunsystem unseres einheimischen Aals mit diesem für ihn neuen Parasiten umgeht.

Endemische Parasiten sind andererseits in einer faszinierenden Vielfalt in Wildfischen anzutreffen, wo sie selten als Krankheitserreger auffallen. Sie sind integraler Bestandteil aquatischer Lebensgemeinschaften. Viele Fischparasiten haben komplexe Lebenszyklen, die mehrere Wirte auf verschiedenen trophischen Ebenen umfassen, und es gibt noch viel über ihre Funktion im Ökosystem zu erforschen. Uns interessiert, wie diese Parasiten die Rolle ihrer Wirte im aquatischen Nahrungsnetz verändern können.

Darüber hinaus nutzen wir unsere Erfahrung bei der Bestimmung von Stress- und Immunparametern, um messbare Hinweise zum Wohlergehen von Fischen in Gefangenschaft zu erhalten. Unser Ziel ist es, wissenschaftliche Daten zur Verbesserung der Haltungsbedingungen von Fischen in Gefangenschaft bereitzustellen.

Gruppenmitglieder

Klaus Knopf

Arbeitsgruppenleitung
Arbeitsgruppe
Fischparasitologie und -immunologie

Viola Schöning

Technik und Labor
Arbeitsgruppe
Fischparasitologie und -immunologie

Seite teilen