Katharina Bunk

Ecohydrologist Doerthe Tetzlaff is elected AGU Fellow

Doerthe Tetzlaff is head of IGB's Department 1: Ecohydrology, and is leading the Research Group Landscape Ecohydrology. | Photo: private

Doerthe Tetzlaff has been head of IGB’s department of Ecohydrology since August 2017, and Professor of Ecohydrology at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Now, she has been elected in the 2018 class of Fellows of the American Geophysical Union (AGU). With more than 60,000 members, AGU is the world’s largest learned society for geoscientists, committed to promoting a more sustainable future. AGU Fellows are recognised for their scientific eminence and the groundbreaking nature of their contributions.

Doerthe Tetzlaff was nominated by the Hydrology Section of AGU for her "fundamental insights into physical processes controlling stream flow in headwaters, and their influence on stream chemistry and aquatic ecology". This makes her the first female hydrologist in Germany – and one of three in the whole of Europe – whose work is honoured with the AGU Fellowship. In an interview, Doerthe Tetzlaff explains why her research is successful – and that a family life can be part of it: "The things we enjoy doing produce better results" >

Contact person

Share page