Dr. (PhD)

Gregorio Alejandro López Moreira Mazacotte

+49 30 64181-523

Müggelseedamm, 310, 12587 Berlin

Research group
  • Bayesian inference
  • Numerical methods
  • Ecological modelling
  • Ecohydrological modelling

Academic Background

  • From October 2015 to January 2019: PhD in River Science within the "Science for MAnagement of Rivers and their Tidal systems" Erasmus Mundus Joint Doctorate (SMART EMJD). Dissertation: "Ecological Modelling of Lake Ecosystems: Integrating hydro-thermodynamics and biogeochemistry in a reduced complexity framework"
    • Primary University: University of Trento (UniTrento, Trento, Italy)
    • Secondary University: Freie Universität Berlin (Berlin, Germany)
    • Associate Partner: Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries (IGB, Neuglobsow, Germany)
  • From 2006 to 2014: Engineering degrees in Environmental Engineering and Industrial Engineering. Department of Civil, Industrial and Environmental Engineering, Faculty of Sciences and Technology, "Nuestra Señora de la Asunción" Catholic University (UCNSA, Asunción, Paraguay).
  • From 2011 to 2013: Technical degree in Computer Applications Programming. Department of Systems Analysis, Faculty of Sciences and Technology, UCNSA (Asunción, Paraguay).

Research Positions

  • From April 2022: Postdoctoral researcher in ecohydrological modelling within the Urban Water Interfaces DFG Research Training Group (UWI) at the IGB.
  • From January 2022 to May 2022: Guest scientist at the IGB.
  • From September 2020 to December 2021: Principal Investigator for the joint UniTrento-UCNSA project to develop an integrated monitoring and modelling system for Ypacaraí Lake (Paraguay), co-funded by the National Council of National and Technology of Paraguay (CONACYT) and the UCNSA.
  • From 6 May 2019 to 31 December 2021: Postdoctoral researcher in ecological modelling within the CLIMSHIFT project at the IGB.
  • From 1 December to 5 May 2019: Research fellow, Department of Civil, Environmental and Mechanical Engineering of the UniTrento.
  • From August 2016 to May 2019: Guest doctoral researcher at the IGB.
  • From October 2015 to January 2019: Doctoral researcher within the GIAMT (Group of Environmental Hydraulics and Morphodynamics Trento) research group of the Department of Civil, Environmental and Mechanical Engineering, UniTrento.
  • From 2011 to 2015: Junior Researcher within the Unit of Hydro-Environmental Studies of the Centre for Appropriate Technology (CTA), Faculty of Sciences and Technology, UCNSA.

Fellowships and Awards

  • 2020: Research grant awarded by the National Council of Science and Technology of Paraguay (CONACYT) for the proposal to develop an integrated monitoring and modelling system for Ypacaraí Lake.
  • 2015: National Youth Award in Science and Technology (National Youth Secretariat of Paraguay).
  • 2015: Erasmus Mundus Fellowship for the SMART Erasmus Mundus Joint Doctorate programme (EACEA, European Commission).




August 2022
David C. Richardson; Meredith A. Holgerson; Matthew J. Farragher; Kathryn K. Hoffman; Katelyn B. S. King; María B. Alfonso; Mikkel R. Andersen; Kendra Spence Cheruveil; Kristen A. Coleman; Mary Jade Farruggia; Rocio Luz Fernandez; Kelly L. Hondula; Gregorio A. López Moreira Mazacotte; Katherine Paul; Benjamin L. Peierls; Joseph S. Rabaey; Steven Sadro; María Laura Sánchez; Robyn L. Smyth; Jon N. Sweetman


January 2022
Michael F. Meyer; Robert Ladwig; Jorrit P. Mesman; Isabella A. Oleksy; Carolina C. Barbosa; Kaelin M. Cawley; Alli N. Cramer; Johannes Feldbauer; Patricia Q. Tran; Jacob A. Zwart; Gregorio A. López Moreira M.; Muhammed Shikhani; Deviyani Gurung; Robert T. Hensley; Elena Matta; Ryan P. McClure; Thomas Petzoldt; Nuria Sánchez-López; Karline Soetaert; Mridul K. Thomas; Simon N. Topp; Xiao Yang



July 2018
Gregorio Alejandro López Moreira M.; Luigi Hinegk; Andrea Salvadore; Guido Zolezzi; Franz Hölker; Roger Arturo Monte Domecq S.; Martina Bocci; Sebastiano Carrer; Luca De Nat; Juan Escribá; Carmen Escribá; Gilberto Antonio Benítez; Claudia Raquel Ávalos; Inocencia Peralta; Mario Insaurralde; Fátima Mereles; Jean Michel Sekatcheff; Andrés Wehrle; Juan Francisco Facetti-Masulli; Juan Francisco Facetti; Marco Toffolon
Contact person
Mark Gessner
Sabine Hilt
(Dept. 1) Ecohydrology and Biogeochemistry
(Dept. 2) Community and Ecosystem Ecology
(Dept. 3) Plankton and Microbial Ecology

Share page