Biogeochemical Processes in Sediments and Lake Management

Research group of Michael Hupfer
In a joint and multidisciplinary project with three Italian partner institutions, we are investigating the impact of changed mixing patterns in North Italian Lake Iseo on the internal phosphorus cycle. | Photo: Maximillian Lau / IGB

Sampling at Lake Iseo in Northern Italy for the multidisciplinary project ISEO: Together with three Italian partner institutions we are investigating the impact of changed mixing patterns in Lake Iseo on the internal phosphorus cycle. | Photo: Maximillian Lau / IGB

We investigate biogeochemical processes and their influence on the nutrient cycling in lakes and rivers. Of particular interest are the coupling of phosphorus with redox-driven reactions of sulfur, iron and carbon at the sediment-water interface. Accurate analyzes of phosphorus species and their diagenetic transformations are used to quantify the role of sediments for the whole phosphorus balance and to recommend management measures to mitigate eutrophication. The following topics are currently in the focus of our research:

  1. Impact of climate change on nutrient balance in lakes. For this purpose, long-term lake data are evaluated, effects of changed thermal stratification are analyzed with the help of case studies and field experiments (hypolimnetic enclosures), and mathematical models are used.
  2. Reconstruction of recent lake development using geochemical signals (proxies) in sediments. We select lakes whose recent development is well documented by long-term monitoring or historical records. The identification of suitable proxies allows a transfer to other timescales in the past and enables predictions of the climate change impact.
  3. Influence of disturbed landscapes on biogeochemical processes. Of particular interest are the spatial impact of material inputs from the lignite area of ​​Lusatia (signatures) on neighbouring systems and the consequences of urbanisation for the nutrient cycling in surface waters.

Team

Michael Hupfer

Head of Department a.i.
Research group
Biogeochemical Processes in Sediments and Lake Management

Robert Schwefel

Postdoc
Research group
Biogeochemical Processes in Sediments and Lake Management

Christiane Herzog

Technician/Lab Operator
Research group
Biogeochemical Processes in Sediments and Lake Management

Sylvia Jordan

Technician/Lab Operator
Research group
Biogeochemical Processes in Sediments and Lake Management

Susanne Boteck

Doctoral Student
Research group
Biogeochemical Processes in Sediments and Lake Management

Lena Heinrich

Doctoral Student
Research group
Biogeochemical Processes in Sediments and Lake Management

Giulia Friedland

Doctoral Student
Research group
Biogeochemical Processes in Sediments and Lake Management

Marvin Bethke

Student Assistant
Research group
Biogeochemical Processes in Sediments and Lake Management
Selected publications

Share page

Biogeochemische Prozesse in Sedimenten & Seenrestaurierung

Arbeitsgruppe von Michael Hupfer
In a joint and multidisciplinary project with three Italian partner institutions, we are investigating the impact of changed mixing patterns in North Italian Lake Iseo on the internal phosphorus cycle. | Photo: Maximillian Lau / IGB

Probenahme auf dem Iseosee im Norden Italiens. Im Projekt ISEO untersuchen wir zusammen mit italienischen Partnern welchen Einfluss klimabedingte Änderungen auf die Schichtung und den internen Phosphorhaushalt von Seen haben. | Foto: Maximillian Lau / IGB

Wir erforschen biogeochemische Prozesse und ihren Einfluss auf den Nährstoffhaushalt von Seen und Flüssen. Von besonderem Interesse sind Redoxprozesse und die Kopplung des Phosphors mit dem  Schwefel-, Eisen- und Kohlenstoffumsatz  an der Sediment-Wasser-Grenze. Genaue Analysen partikulärer Phosphor-Spezies und ihre diagenetische Umwandlung  dienen dazu, die Rolle der Sedimente für den Phosphor-Haushalt zu quantifizieren und Empfehlungen für Managementmaßnahmen zur Verminderung der Eutrophierung abzuleiten. Es gibt folgende Schwerpunkte:

  1. Einfluss des Klimawandels auf den Nährstoffhaushalt in Seen. Dazu werden Langzeitdaten von Seen ausgewertet, Auswirkungen eines veränderten Schichtungsverhaltens mit Hilfe von Fallstudien und von Freiland-Experimenten (Hypolimnische Enclosures) analysiert sowie Modelle angewendet.
  2. Rekonstruktion der jüngeren Seenentwicklung mit Hilfe geochemischer Signale (Proxies) in Sedimenten. Es werden Seen untersucht, deren jüngere Entwicklung durch ein Langzeit-Monitoring oder historische Aufzeichnungen gut dokumentiert ist. Die Identifizierung geeigneter Proxies ermöglicht eine Übertragung auf andere Zeitskalen oder Systeme und soll  Prognosen für  die Auswirkungen des erwarteten Klimawandels  ermöglichen.
  3. Einfluss gestörter Landschaften auf biogeochemische Prozesse. Ein besonderes Interesse gilt der Fernwirkung von stofflichen Einträgen aus dem Braunkohlegebiet der Lausitz (Signaturen) und den Konsequenzen der Urbanisierung für den Nährstoffkreislauf in aquatischen Systemen. 

Gruppenmitglieder

Michael Hupfer

Abteilungsleitung a.i.
Arbeitsgruppe
Biogeochemische Prozesse in Sedimenten & Seenrestaurierung

Robert Ladwig

Doktorand/in
Arbeitsgruppe
Biogeochemische Prozesse in Sedimenten & Seenrestaurierung

Gregor Scholtysik

Doktorand/in
Arbeitsgruppe
Biogeochemische Prozesse in Sedimenten & Seenrestaurierung

Lena Heinrich

Doktorand/in
Arbeitsgruppe
Biogeochemische Prozesse in Sedimenten & Seenrestaurierung

Giulia Friedland

Doktorand/in
Arbeitsgruppe
Biogeochemische Prozesse in Sedimenten & Seenrestaurierung

Sylvia Jordan

Technik und Labor
Arbeitsgruppe
Biogeochemische Prozesse in Sedimenten & Seenrestaurierung

Christiane Herzog

Technik und Labor
Arbeitsgruppe
Biogeochemische Prozesse in Sedimenten & Seenrestaurierung

Seite teilen