Photosynthesis and Growth of Phytoplankton and Macrophytes

Research group of Jan Köhler

Causes and effects of mass development of aquatic plants

In the MadMacs project, we are investigating the prerequisites of mass developments of aquatic macrophytes and the effects this has on other groups of organisms, on carbon and nutrient budgets, on hydraulics and on users of lakes and rivers. One goal is to develop a guide for managing aquatic plants. More information can be found on the project page.

Harpenslager, S.F., Thiemer, K., Levertz, C., Misteli, B., Sebola, K.M., Schneider, S.C., Hilt, S., Köhler, J. (2022): Short-term effects of macrophyte removal on emission of CO2 and CH4 in shallow lakes. Aquatic Botany 182, 103555, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.aquabot.2022.103555. 

Long-term changes of Müggelsee and Spree

The IGB has been studying the polymictic Müggelsee in Berlin since about 1978, and the lowland river Spree upstream of Berlin since 1987. Here, the following questions are currently of particular interest:

  • How does the ecosystem respond to simultaneous changes in nutrient inputs, discharge and water temperature, and to colonization by invasive species?
  • To what extent can efforts to reduce external nutrient loads be counteracted by climatic changes?
  • Does the supply of phosphorus or nitrogen limit phytoplankton development in Lake Müggelsee? Do N2-fixing cyanobacteria become dominant in the long term if concentrations of nitrate or ammonium are declining? Which nutrient should be preferentially retained in the catchment?
  • What are the effects of increasing thermal stratification in summer on oxygen balance, release of nutrients from the sediment, phytoplankton development and mussel colonization?
  • What feedback processes stabilize the dominance of either phytoplankton or aquatic plants in lowland rivers?

Water chemistry and plankton are analyzed weekly in the Müggelsee and fortnightly in the Spree. In Müggelsee, an automatic monitoring station records a variety of meteorological, physical and biological parameters. Mapping of aquatic plants is done by contracted divers in Müggelsee and by us in the Spree.

Shatwell, T. & Köhler, J. (2019): Decreased nitrogen loading controls summer cyanobacterial blooms without promoting nitrogen-fixing taxa: long-term response of a shallow lake.- Limnology & Oceanography 64, S166-S178, https://doi.org/10.1002/lno.11002

Recknagel, F., Adrian, R., Köhler, J. (2021): Quantifying phenological asynchrony of phyto- and zooplankton in response to changing temperature and nutrient conditions in Lake Müggelsee (Germany) by means of evolutionary computation.- Environmental Modelling and Software 146 (2021) 105224 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.envsoft.2021.105224

Fish kill in the river Oder caused by Prymnesium parvum

In the second week of August 2022, masses of dead fish and mussels appeared in the German part of the Oder River. At the same time, the automatic monitoring station of the Brandenburg State Office for the Environment (LfU) near Frankfurt/Oder recorded oxygen supersaturation, strong fluctuations of oxygen and pH during the day, and drastically increased chlorophyll concentrations, all signs of mass development of phytoplankton. On August 15, we found high abundances of Prymnesium parvum in the Oder River water, a haptophyte (see photo) that caused fish kills in Scandinavia and Texas, among other places. In fact, the toxin prymnesin, typical for this algae species, was detected in our samples by Dr. Varga (University of Vienna). According to previous knowledge, Prymnesium prefers elevated salt concentrations, such as those measured in the Oder River in August 2022, but which would not occur naturally. This mass development was promoted by far too high inputs of phosphorus and nitrogen from sewage treatment plants and agriculture, high water temperatures, barrages and low discharge. We have isolated the alga and multiply it in the laboratory to study its environmental requirements. We want to better understand the combinations of factors that allow Prymnesium to boom and produce toxins. 

Influence of vertical mixing on phytoplankton growth and photosynthesis

Traditionally, the light dependence of growth and photosynthesis is usually measured at constant light or at constant water depths. In fact, planktonic algae cannot resist water movement caused by wind or gravity. They move up and down in a mixed water column, receiving highly fluctuating light. We have simulated this vertical mixing in field and laboratory experiments and compared growth, photosynthesis and respiration of isolated species and communities at different mixing conditions.

Köhler, J., Wang, L., Guislain, A., Shatwell, T. (2018): Influence of vertical mixing on light-dependency of phytoplankton growth.- Limnology & Oceanography 63, 1156-1167, https://doi.org/10.1002/lno.10761

Guislain, A., Beisner, B.E., Köhler, J. (2019): Variation in species light acquisition traits under fluctuating light regimes: implications for non-equilibrium coexistence.- OIKOS 128 (5) 716-728 https://doi.org/10.1111/oik.05297

Team

Jan Köhler

Head of Department (a.i.)
Research group
Photosynthesis and Growth of Phytoplankton and Macrophytes

Lena Caroline Schulz

Student (BA/MA)
Research group
Photosynthesis and Growth of Phytoplankton and Macrophytes

Share page

Photosynthese und Wachstum von Algen und Makrophyten

Forschungsgruppe von Jan Köhler

Ursachen und Auswirkungen der Massenentwicklung von Wasserpflanzen

Im MadMacs-Projekt untersuchen wir, unter welchen Umständen sich Wasserpflanzen massenhaft entwickeln können und welche Auswirkungen das hat auf andere Organismengruppen, auf Kohlenstoff- und Nährstoffhaushalt, auf Hydraulik und Gewässernutzer. Dabei vergleichen wir Abschnitte von Flüssen und Seen vor und nach der Krautung, jeweils mit Kontroll- und Krautungsflächen. Ein Ziel ist die Erarbeitung eines Leitfadens zum Management von Wasserpflanzen. Mehr Informationen sind auf der Projektseite zu finden.

Harpenslager, S.F., Thiemer, K., Levertz, C., Misteli, B., Sebola, K.M., Schneider, S.C., Hilt, S., Köhler, J. (2022): Short-term effects of macrophyte removal on emission of CO2 and CH4 in shallow lakes.- Aquatic Botany 182, 103555, doi.org/10.1016/j.aquabot.2022.103555

Langzeit-Änderungen von Müggelsee and Spree

Das IGB untersucht den polymiktischen Müggelsee in Berlin seit etwa 1978, den Flachlandfluss Spree oberhalb von Berlin seit 1987. Hierbei sind folgende Fragen derzeit besonders interessant:

  • Wie reagiert das Ökosystem auf die gleichzeitige Änderung von Nährstoffeinträgen, Durchfluss und Wassertemperatur und die Besiedlung durch invasive Arten?
  • In wieweit können Anstrengungen zur Verringerung externer Nährstoffbelastungen durch klimatische Änderungen konterkariert werden?
  • Begrenzt das Angebot von Phosphor oder von Stickstoff die Phytoplanktonentwicklung im Müggelsee? Werden N2-fixierende Cyanobakterien bei Mangel an Nitrat oder Ammonium langfristig dominant? Welcher Nährstoff sollte bevorzugt im Einzugsgebiet zurückgehalten werden?
  • Welche Wirkungen hat die zunehmende thermische Schichtung im Sommer auf den Sauerstoffhaushalt, die Freisetzung von Nährstoffen aus dem Sediment, die Phytoplanktonentwicklung und die Besiedlung mit Muscheln?
  • Durch welche Rückkopplungsprozesse werden die Dominanz von entweder Phytoplankton oder Wasserpflanzen in Flachlandflüssen stabilisiert?

Wasserchemismus und Plankton werden wöchentlich im Müggelsee und 14-tägig in der Spree analysiert. Im Müggelsee zeichnet eine automatische Messstation eine Vielzahl meteorologischer, physikalischer und biologischer Parameter auf. Die Kartierung der Wasserpflanzen erfolgt durch beauftragte Taucher im Müggelsee und durch uns in der Spree.

Shatwell, T. & Köhler, J. (2019): Decreased nitrogen loading controls summer cyanobacterial blooms without promoting nitrogen-fixing taxa: long-term response of a shallow lake.- Limnology & Oceanography 64, S166-S178, https://doi.org/10.1002/lno.11002

Recknagel, F., Adrian, R., Köhler, J. (2021): Quantifying phenological asynchrony of phyto- and zooplankton in response to changing temperature and nutrient conditions in Lake Müggelsee (Germany) by means of evolutionary computation.- Environmental Modelling and Software 146 (2021) 105224 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.envsoft.2021.105224

Fischsterben in der Oder durch Prymnesium parvum

In der zweiten Augustwoche 2022 tauchten im deutschen Teil der Oder massenhaft tote Fische und Muscheln auf. Gleichzeitig zeigten die Messwerte der automatischen Messstation des Landesamts für Umwelt Brandenburg bei Frankfurt/Oder Sauerstoff-Übersättigung, starke Schwankungen von Sauerstoff und pH im Tagesgang und drastisch gestiegene Chlorophyll-Konzentrationen, alles Zeichen für eine Massenentwicklung von Phytoplankton. Am 15.08. fanden wir massenhaft Prymnesium parvum im Oderwasser, einen Haptophyten (siehe Foto), der u.a. in Skandinavien und in Texas Fischsterben auslöste. Tatsächlich wurde in unseren Proben durch Dr. Varga (Uni Wien) das für diese Algenart typische Toxin Prymnesin nachgewiesen. Nach bisherigen Kenntnissen bevorzugt Prymnesium erhöhte Salzkonzentrationen, wie sie im August 2022 in der Oder gemessen wurden, natürlicherweise aber nicht vorkommen würden. Diese Massenentwicklung wurde gefördert durch viel zu hohe Einträge von Phosphor und Stickstoff aus Kläranlagen und Landwirtschaft, hohe Wassertemperaturen, Staustufen und niedrige Durchflüsse. Wir haben die Alge isoliert und im Labor vermehrt, um ihre Umweltansprüche zu untersuchen. Wir wollen besser verstehen, bei welchen Faktorenkombinationen Prymnesium massenhaft wachsen kann und Toxine bildet.   Prymnesium parvum; Foto: K. Preuß, IGB

Prymnesium parvum aus der Oder, Foto: K. Preuß, IGB

Wir haben in einer Vielzahl von Interviews über die bisherigen Kenntnisse berichtet, etwa in

https://www.zeit.de/wissen/umwelt/2022-08/fischsterben-algenbluete-oder-deutschland-polen-jan-koehler

https://www.spiegel.de/panorama/oder-113-tonnen-tote-fische-und-ein-zufriedener-umweltminister-a-9d9995da-cdc3-4897-850a-728b4fd6b8ed

Einfluss vertikaler Durchmischung auf Wachstum und Photosynthese von Phytoplankton

Die Lichtabhängigkeit von Wachstum und Photosynthese wird traditionell meist bei konstantem Licht oder in konstanten Wassertiefen gemessen. Tatsächlich können sich planktische Algen nicht gegen durch Wind oder Schwerkraft hervorgerufene Wasserbewegungen wehren. Sie werden in einer durchmischten Wassersäule auf und ab bewegt und empfangen dabei stark fluktuierendes Licht. Wir haben in Freiland- und Laborexperimenten diese vertikale Durchmischung simuliert. Dabei wurden Wachstum, Photosynthese und Respiration von typischen Algenarten und ganzen Gemeinschaften bei unterschiedlichen Durchmischungstiefen verglichen.

Köhler, J., Wang, L., Guislain, A., Shatwell, T. (2018): Influence of vertical mixing on light-dependency of phytoplankton growth.- Limnology & Oceanography 63, 1156-1167, https://doi.org/10.1002/lno.10761

Guislain, A., Beisner, B.E., Köhler, J. (2019): Variation in species light acquisition traits under fluctuating light regimes: implications for non-equilibrium coexistence.- OIKOS 128 (5) 716-728 https://doi.org/10.1111/oik.05297

Guislain, A. & Köhler, J. (2022): From minute to day: Ecophysiological response of phytoplankton to fluctuating light exposure during vertical mixing.- Limnology & Oceanography 67, 2809-2820 https://doi: 10.1002/lno.12240

Team

Jan Köhler

Forschungsgruppenleiter*in
Forschungsgruppe
Photosynthese und Wachstum von Algen und Makrophyten

Lena Caroline Schulz

Student*in (BA/MA)
Forschungsgruppe
Photosynthese und Wachstum von Algen und Makrophyten

Seite teilen